You Watch Them. They Watch You.

inspiration 2Looking. Glancing. Noticing. Watching. Creeping. Staring. Admit it, you do these actions every day whether you mean to or not. Call it what you want. I call it people-watching.

People-watching is one of my favorite pastimes. I do it on a daily basis. When I’m walking across campus, sitting in class, riding the bus, or at work, I watch people. I do this because people are interesting, weird, and different. You can learn so much from the people around you.

We are taught from a young age that staring is bad, but I think that staring is considered a negative thing, because someone got offended a long long time ago in a galaxy far far away and made a scene giving the word a bad connotation. I think watching and inquiring others is a way for us to learn about ourselves. If we didn’t notice and look at others how would we appreciate style, personality, or character?

By watching other people we start to see how we want to act, how we want to dress, how we want to sound, and how we want to be perceived. I think this is so important in figuring out the kind of people we want to be and be associated with. So this is how we pick our friends as well.

Loving myself is something that I have always had a love/hate relationship with. There are days that I have more confidence than a circus tight-rope walker and other days when I am so insecure I can’t even look a stranger in the eyes. But I have slowly learned that people will look my direction whether I am trying to be noticed or trying to blend in and they will continue to look no matter if they like what they see or they don’t. It’s human nature.

I have decided that people can look, glance, notice, watch, creep, and stare at me. It might be unnerving at first, but if it will help them define themselves and the person they want to be then why should I stop them. If I am just being me, why is it so wrong that they look at me? If I am confident in myself then I shouldn’t care. Correction: I don’t care. It’s a challenge that I am willing to accept. Bring on the eyes and bring on the confidence!

❤ a girl

What Do You Think?

