No Longer a Teen, Still Look Like a Child

20th Birthday 1Yesterday I turned 20 years old. It was so surreal! Most people don’t care about their twentieth birthday and why should they… but it was so exciting for me. For as long as I can remember, I have always felt out of place as a teenager. I have always been the stickler for the rules, goody-two-shoes, grandma of whatever group I am a part of at the time.Turning twenty reminds me that I am a year closer to the age I feel inside.

Society tells us that our teenage years are for making mistakes and learning from them and for being crazy, young, and stupid. Well, that didn’t happen for me. I waited to be “bad” and make mistakes and be crazy. I feel like I have just reached the stage where I want to be wild and push my boundaries. I have experienced a little bit, but can’t wait for everything else that is in store for me.

Last night I had a dinner with some friends at Olive Garden. Although everyone I wanted to celebrate with couldn’t make it, I was so glad with the terrific group of people that were able to make it! They made it so special. 12Some are new friends and some are older friends, but all were college friends. It wasn’t like the birthdays I had back home, but it was just as good. I definitely feel older and I am excited to see where I go from here. After dinner though is when the party really started. Elephant and I went back to her place to get crazy… we watched movies, played games, and drank. We had made jello-shots and this pink lemonade punch stuff. Let me just say that this didn’t go exactly as I had planned, but I lived and learned.

Lesson 1: I am not a fan of alcohol mixed with sugar. Let’s just say that the punch did not settle well with me.

Lesson 2: I like shots.

Lesson 3: Once I break the barrier, I am in the bathroom every few minutes.

Lesson 4: When I drink, I can’t watch movies… I must be active.

Lesson 5: Being giggly with your best friend can make for a perfect night!

At one point, my friend had invited Elephant and I to a party, but by the time we arrived it had already dispersed which is probably a good thing, but I have to admit that I had a lot of fun yesterday night and being exhausted today is totally worth it.

It was a great birthday and I am ready to face life as a 20 year old!

❤ a girl

6 thoughts on “No Longer a Teen, Still Look Like a Child

  1. Pingback: Sophomore Year // Week 34 | Little Miss Unsure

  2. Pingback: another year gone. – Just A Precious Penny

What Do You Think?

