Picking Battles

pickyourbattlesMy mom has always told me to pick my battles. That not everything is worth letting it ruin your day. I feel picking your battles is about patience. Today my patience was tested.

I live with the roommate from Hell. Technically she is my suite-mate, but with how loud she is, you wouldn’t know that. We have had a few wars here and there, but honestly she is so hot and cold/up and down that I never know how she is going to react to something. We only have 20 days left of living together and she has decided that now where I keep my towels in the bathroom is a problem. She keeps moving them and this isn’t a big deal, but I just don’t understand why she is choosing to make this a thing now.

I have been known to leave a note here or there, but the first time she moved my towels, I just nicely put them back when I went to the bathroom next. Well she continues to move it, so I have decided to just leave them there. I feel like this is letting her win, but I just don’t feel like it is worth making a big deal about.

As much as I love Texas, I was getting a little tired of him having his Katy Perry moment as well. When I left my room at 8:45 this morning it was warm outside. My weather app said it was supposed to rain around 2 p.m., but I was going to be back by then, but I grabbed a small umbrella anyway. Well, I left my first class to grab something to eat and it dropped 10 degrees and started pouring. I got to my next class and when I left, it was slightly sprinkling, but was real muggy. After leaving my third class at 2 p.m. it was so hot outside that all the rain had dried up and you wouldn’t have even known it rained. Seriously, Texas.

Later, I was about to take a test online when my laptop just sort of flickered and then shut off. I don’t know if I accidentally clicked something or what. So, I tried to turn it back on and when it finally lit up, I managed to log in, but the screen just went solid. I couldn’t access my desktop or start menu. I was frustrated, because I had to take my test today and I had to do well. I ended up having to walk all the way back to the library and rent a laptop to take my test.

Afterwards, I took my laptop up to Best Buy, thinking that they could help me out. They were able to get my laptop working again, but apparently my hard-drive is shot, because I dropped it off my bed a couple months ago. They said sometimes laptops work for a little while and then just die, so I should be expecting it. She recommended that I go back and back up everything on my laptop and buy a temporary computer. So I left the store with a new Chromebook.

I don’t mind the Chromebook. It’s actually super light and really sleek and easy to use. But before I figured it out, I tried to set it up, but couldn’t get it to connect to the internet in my dorm building. After tons of tried, I ended up having to walk back to the library and use their internet.

Needless to say, I had so many moments today where I just wanted to breakdown and yell or scream or throw something. I was letting my roommate and my laptop malfunction get me frustrated, but I once I slowed down, breathed, and figured out a solution, I felt so much better.

Deciding not to let little things affect your day is difficult, but definitely worth it in the long run.

❀ a girl

 

One thought on “Picking Battles

  1. Pingback: Sophomore Year // Week 35 | Just A Precious Penny

What Do You Think?

