Too Young For This

weird face

Deer is getting married to one of my other good friends and I am a bridesmaid. It was super sweet of her to ask me and I was delighted to say yes. Last night I got an invitation to her lingerie shower and my first thought was that I was too young to be going to something like that.

It is weird for me to think about being twenty and entering this new stage where my friends are going to start settling down and getting married and having children. I have to attend a lingerie shower for goodness sake which requires me to have to pick out something for my friend to where while sleeping with my other friend.

I know this is natural. I know they are in love. I am so happy for them. But it doesn’t make it any less awkward for me. Maybe it’s because I’m immature in these areas or because this is the first time I have been in this situation, but I don’t know how to feel about it.

I want to be cool about this whole thing. I want to be outwardly excited for them instead of having my cheeks turn bright red. Why does that happen? When do I cross over that line from being a kid to being an adult. Technically I have been an adult for two years. I’m in freaking college, yet I still don’t feel like one.

When does this change? Is there anything I can do to start feeling like an adult; to start accepting all of this?

❤ a girl

8 thoughts on “Too Young For This

  1. You can continue being happy for your friends so you’ll feel less awkward in the situation. Of course it’s weird to choose lingerie for your friend knowing what will happen. But even that’s a normal – if intimate – part of life. It’ll feel less weird the more you have to do it. So I wouldn’t worry too much about blushing 😉
    Basically you can act like an adult to feel like one. But never forget about your inner child that needs to play from time to time and make you see life from a different perspective. Today I passed a stuffed toy bear sitting on a chair that blew bubbles into the air. “Silly” one might think but the child inside me was happy. It reminded me of my childhood and that felt good. Yes, it felt good to not feel like an adult for a few seconds. Hope this helps a bit 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am so happy for them, it’s just weird realizing that this is really happening. I don’t know if that makes any sense, but when you are younger getting older wasn’t that big of a deal, because you are still in school and living with your parents and all that, but now getting older means so much more is happening and changing. It’s a good feeling, but strange in the same way.
      You’re right though, the more I do it, then less weird it will be.
      I want to start acting like an adult, but I don’t know where to “start.” I totally have those moments too where something will happen and I can’t help, but smile or giggle. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • It makes sense because getting older is far away when you’re young. When my parents spoke of things that happened 20 years ago, I could imagine what 20 years was. Now I can say so myself: 20 years ago, I… Now you can grasp getting older, you observe and realize changes in you, your surroundings etc. Getting older has become real. We have to come to terms with that reality.
        I think if you just behave like your true self you will automatically act like an adult. I mean there are no guidelines on how to act like an adult. You will know when it’s appropriate to giggle like a little schoolgirl and when you shouldn’t do it. Oh, and cherish those moments when you feel like a child again 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. To be honest, I think it’s a mix of things. The inexperience, the age. I wouldn’t say you’re “immature” though. Being embarrassed is fine. I mean, I wouldn’t want to imagine my friends doing that sort of stuff together. Ew.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahahaha thanks! I always get told that I look really young (like thirteen/fourteen years old), but then they tell me that when I open my mouth that they can tell I am older. So sometimes I feel immature, but then other times I feel so old lol, but you’re right about not wanting to imagine your friends doing that haha 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hey…your cheeks turning red is totally fine! 🙂 Buy your friend some lingerie and be happy for her..you’ll find all this normal at some point of time..Just bcoz you are 20 doesn’t mean all wisdom and maturity will come at one shot..go with the flow..

    Liked by 1 person

What Do You Think?

