“But you’re so pretty!”

beautyFor the summer, I have gone back to my old high school job which was hosting at a local restaurant. Last night, I was working with this girl who is sixteen. She and I got off to a rocky start when we met a couple days ago and there has been a lot of walking on egg shells. When I am in my element (hosting) my extremely bossy, demanding, controlling side comes out and not everyone can handle it. I do my job and I do it well. I don’t play nice with those who tend to cut corners, be lazy, and not do what is expected of them.

Well this girl is one of those. After I snapped at her, she morphed into one of those overly nice girls who tries to be your friend, because they don’t want you upset with them. Honestly, I don’t care about being her friend, so I just went about as normal through the night. Once we got off our wait and the rush was over, we were both standing up there. The other girl and her had been discussing their love lives (albeit they are both sixteen), but when the other girl got cut for the night, I was the only one left. Sadly.

After a few moments of silence, the girl asks me – “Do you have a boyfriend?” This is not an absurd question and I had been waiting for her to ask me since that seems to be everyone’s question after asking how old I am. I shook my head and told her that I didn’t have one. Her immediate response was – “But you’re so pretty!” 

I was completely speechless. I’ve only been out of high school for two years, but I just couldn’t fathom being surrounded by such a shallow person. I thanked her and preceded to explain to her that I felt being in a relationship was about more than just looks. That there were a lot of other aspects I look for in a guy that I wanted to be with and so far I hadn’t found anyone.

She looked at me dumbfounded. Like I was a complete idiot or totally insane. I didn’t know what else to say, so I just left that hanging in the air and walked off. I’m still kind of in shock that she said that to me. I keep telling myself she probably said that to get back in my good graces, but the part that makes me laugh is that she said it without skipping a beat. That was legitimately her first thought.

There are days when I wonder where I came from. Why I’m not like the others that surround me. Then there are other days when I am so thankful that I have the thought process that I do.

❤ a girl

4 thoughts on ““But you’re so pretty!”

  1. As a high school student I can definitely sympathize. The “but you’re so pretty!” comment has been said to me by relatives and friends alike. Sigh.

    Liked by 1 person

What Do You Think?

