Bred to be a Housewife

I used to know this family who had four daughters and one son. They went to my church for a little while and came across as the perfect Christian family who could do no wrong. Honestly, they made me a little sick. Well I was never really close to them and last I heard they moved away, but I still know people who know them or follow them on social media, so I get an update on their lives every so often.

Ever since I met them, I felt like they were being bred to be housewives. Between how they were allowed to date and who they were allowed to date, I just felt they never really had a say. All they talked about was finding a Godly guy to marry and settle down with. They were taught to cook and craft. I don’t think it helped much that they were homeschooled.

I just found out that the oldest just got married. The second oldest got married a year ago and had her first kid yesterday. The third oldest is engaged to be married at the end of the year. This blows my mind. They are all married before they turn 21.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t have a problem with people who marry young. My mom got married at 19 and had both my brother and I by the time she was 22. It just bothers me that these girls are taught their sole purpose in life is to be a wife. They have all this biblical stuff to back it up, but I just don’t understand it.

I want to teach my children and encourage them to be all and whatever they want to be. I want them to know that there is a whole world out there worth exploring. I want to let them form their own views and opinions through school and their mistakes.

In my experience, going off to college has flipped my world upside down. My views have changed dramatically in the past two years and it hurts my heart to know that these girls are never going to have that opportunity. They probably aren’t bothered by this. They are very adamant about their lifestyle, but I don’t feel like they know any different. I don’t feel like they were told that they can be anything.

That is the end of my rant. The end.

❀ a girl

What Do You Think?

