There’s Always that Person that Thinks They are Alpha

pissing people off

The above picture is literally what was going through my head last night.

As some of you know, one of my summer jobs is being a hostess. I’m the oldest hostess and have been there the longest. Sometimes this is a good thing other times it is not. They keep hiring new people and I have to train them and there is always at least one person who doesn’t take well to having someone “in charge” and telling them what to do and how to do it.

It’s important to understand that I am the person who is “in charge” and for a good reason. But I am also kind of mellow when I am not around my friends or really excited about something. I am not there to become besties with all of them. I am also anal and meticulous about the way I run my host stand, because I know my system works. I can also get extremely stressed out and frustrated when things aren’t going according to plan.

Last night was super busy. We had live music and an hour long wait. I was working with one girl who I like and work well with, one girls who is all air in the head, and one new girl (it was her third-ever shift). All night she kept irritating me and screwing up. It frustrates the hell out of me when people cut me off or talk over me as I am speaking to customers. I was really behaving myself though when she would do this to me.

Well at one point, they messed up and never sat a lady I told them to, so she came up and complained which was totally understandable. This was one of those ‘if you want something done right, you have to do it yourself’ moments, so I ran outside and found her a table, seated her, and apologized again for our mistake. When I got back up to the stand the new girl was standing in my spot. I know this sounds ridiculous, but I stand there, because I run what we call “board” and from this spot I can see the entire inside part of the restaurant, the lobby, and the floor chart as well as write down names for the wait-list. Pretty much it is imperative that I stand there for my meticulous system to stay working properly.

I nicely and calmly said, “Excuse me” and she [the new girl] rudely made fun of me and said with so much attitude, “What I can’t stand here!?” I nicely and calmly said, “No, that is where I stand.”  She then proceeded to ignore my nice and calm demeanor and said, “Well I’m going to run things.” I had already been at work for five hours at this point and I was exhausted and stressed, so I took a deep breathe and walked away. When I get irritated and frustrated with someone I take a lap around the restaurant to cool myself down. I was standing outside when my manager asked what I was doing. I explained the situation and told him that if she wanted to do my job, then she could.

He took me back in there and told her that I was “board” person. After he walked away she said, “Did you just go tell on me?” I said, “No I didn’t. He asked me what happened and I told him.” A customer walked up and she continued to spat at me, “Well that’s not what I heard. I heard you were talking crap about me to everyone.” Needless to say I had been outside for all of like five minutes and everyone was crazy busy. I ignored her and spoke to my customer.

This girl had it out for me just because it was my job to tell her where to seat people. That is just how the system works, but I had had enough. I am four years older than her, so I refuse to stoop down to her level and give into yelling at her, because that is what she wants. Some other things were said after I left that night and then again tonight.

There just comes a time when you are too old to be involved in pointless, petty drama like this. Sometimes I have difficult expressing assertiveness and instead it comes off as bitchy. So I take laps instead which seems like I am giving in, but fingers crossed that the new job I got works out, so I can quit hosting and grow up!

❤ a girl

2 thoughts on “There’s Always that Person that Thinks They are Alpha

What Do You Think?

