That Two Job Life

stress

So I started my second summer job on the first day of June. I am an office assistant “intern” at a realtor’s office. I mainly do data entry and other tasks that are medial, but that he doesn’t want to do. I work 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Thursdays, so it isn’t a bad gig.

I was hoping that I could make enough at the new job, so I wouldn’t have to host in the evenings anymore, but my parents won’t allow me to quit working at the restaurant, because they don’t want to close that door.

There was also a lady at the realtor’s office who was going to have me do her filing and computer stuff on Wednesdays and Fridays.

Literally my last week has been wake up at 7 a.m., be at the realtor’s office at 9 a.m., leave at 4 p.m., run home and change clothes, get to the restaurant at 5:30 p.m., leave at 11 p.m., then go to sleep. The next day I would wake up and do it all over again.

I know that doesn’t sound too bad and I am getting paid for the work that I do, but I am so exhausted. I am one of those people who needs a good amount of sleep to be a sane person during the day and with this schedule I am just so cranky and I wouldn’t even want to be around myself.

I understand where my parents are coming from by not allowing me to quit one of my jobs, so today I told the lady at the office that I wouldn’t be able to work for her. I apologized, but it was just too much. I need at least a few days to be able to sleep in, eat, read, watch t.v…. do the things that summer is supposed to be used for.

So anyway, that is basically why you haven’t heard from me much in the last week or so. Because I am walking zombie.

โค a girl

13 thoughts on “That Two Job Life

  1. That is a lot! I previously worked Mon-Fri, 9am-5pm, and that was enough. I once had to do a 9am-midnight and…. well, never again! I don’t blame you for letting one of them go, it’s a shame that you can’t quit the evenings just yet, as that would allow for more of a “normal” schedule in my eyes. We miss you! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • GEEZ!!! 9 to midnight! Girl that is absolutely crazy!!! Thanks! I didn’t work this morning, but worked tonight and it was so much smoother, because I actually had energy and didn’t want to fall asleep standing straight up lol.

      I’ll be back soon!! โค ya!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I can’t imagine how stressful it must be for you :/ how long is it going to continue this way? I’m glad you could say ‘no’ to the job because it’s really important to take care of yourself, there’s no point in being a walking zombie who can’t enjoy life..

    However it is great that you can save up some money for the future! Your present you might be suffering but I’m sure your future you will be very very thankful for it ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m a bit worried about finding a job when I’m back in September and think of getting even two to have a financial buffer.

    Take good care of yourself ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think I am going to keep the two jobs until I go back to school in August. I work three days at one and a few nights at the other, so it isn’t too bad at the moment. I just have to work on my time management skills. Thanks for the encouragement! At least you have until September. Where are you going back to?

      Like

      • haha time management was a big problem of mine during school ๐Ÿ˜€ I hope you can enjoy summer nonetheless ๐Ÿ™‚ are you saving up for something in specific?

        To Switzerland ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Basically, I am saving up for three different things: a trip to California for Spring Break next year, but then on a more vague sense I want to have money saved for a place to live and a new car for when I graduate.

        Oooh cool! I have always wanted to visit there!

        Like

      • I think those three things are great goals to save up for ๐Ÿ™‚ would you like to live somewhere else one day?

        well, if you do go to Switzerland one day be sure to have a fat wallet because it’s incredibly expensive :/ and don’t forget to tell me haha

        Liked by 1 person

      • I would love to live somewhere else, but I am not sure where I would move to. I am kind of a Texas girl at heart, but experiencing life in a new place would be quite an adventure.

        Hahahaha I definitely will! ๐Ÿ™‚ This may be a stupid question, but what language do y’all speak there?

        Like

      • I guess you’ve realised it by now that there is nothing greater for me than experiencing life in a new place ๐Ÿ˜€ but yeah, it’s overwhelming to think of all the places where one could move to!

        haha it’s a really good question ๐Ÿ˜€ depending on the region either German (rather said Swiss German), French or Italian. In a little part there are also people spaking Rhaeto-Romanic. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh cool! I have a weakness for everything connected with Italy haha I hope you’ll continue your studies ๐Ÿ™‚ you’ll improve gradually and will be very happy when you can put it into practice in Europe!

        Liked by 1 person

What Do You Think?

