We Can’t All Be Hourglasses

flat chested

Being confident seems like a catch-22 sometimes.

My personality isn’t really a problem. That molds itself to whatever situation I find myself in and my sass can handle itself, but there are times when I am not confident with my physical self as I am with my mental self.

Let’s just get this straight: I am 5’1 (and a fourth). I am 97 pounds. I have A-cup breasts. I have no butt. My feet are a size 5 and a half.

Now there is nothing wrong with being a petite woman. I can embrace it for the most part and have been ever since I was very little and everyone started looking different than the stick that I am. But it can become difficult to keep that confidence and be proud of your body.

First, you can’t control what you look like. When we get down to it, the basis of what we look like has to do with genes. I have blue eyes and pale skin, plus I am short. Well my parents happen to look a lot like that.

Second, I happen to have a fast metabolism, so I get so frustrated when people tell me I need to “put meat on my bones”… hello! Do y’all just think I don’t feed myself, because I am actually quite the pig.

Third, it becomes an ordeal to see yourself as a beautiful woman and believe that somewhere out there a handsome boy will too, when everywhere I go I get mistaken for a child (as young as 12). I know I will “be grateful for this when I am older”, but honestly no one wants to be told this every day. Sometimes I just want someone to realize that I am, in fact, 20 years old.

Lastly, there is all this talk about body type. It has always been a thing that society tells all girls they need to be skinny and look like models, but I don’t think this is the case all the time. I am all for plus size models and more realistic looking manikins, but people need to understand that there is this fine line. Bigger girls are told they need to be smaller and smaller girls are told they need to be bigger, but there is no perfect size.

We have artists singing songs about how men like curvy girls and I appreciate that they are standing up for themselves, but I don’t feel like we have reached equality in this war between thin females and larger females. We are all beautiful and should lift each other up and encourage one another. We should be proud that we don’t all look the same. I am a skinny, curve-less girl by no choice of my own and I am tired of feeling self-conscious about it one day and ashamed the next.

This all came to me earlier when I was at a lingerie shower (which by the way I survived πŸ˜‰ ). There were these cookies that one girl had made and they were all of these very voluptuous butts and breasts. It wasn’t a big deal, but the more I thought about it, the more I realized that this is what society expects; big booty girls with breasts to match.

I don’t know why this has struck a chord in me, but I guess I am just tired of the endless hooplah about female body image. I am tired of hearing that society tells woman they should be thin, because I don’t think that is what society preaches anymore. I think society preaches that you should be “just right”, but there isn’t a just right. Depending on what body type you have is what dictates what society tells you. As a female I want to stop feeling inadequate just because I am a small and I want my friends to stop feeling inadequate because they are curvy, plump, or pear shaped.

We are all beautiful and perfect and if you wish to lose weight or tone your body then let that be up to you and not by the people around you.

❀ a girl

P.S. This whole “body pride” thing all started earlier when I was picking out what to wear to the shower. I chose this summer dress that was airy and had spaghetti straps. I realized that it looked super cute on me, but that no one else at the party could have pulled it off. At that moment I was so proud of my figure and decided to embrace my no butt, flat-chest body and work it to the best of my ability.

13 thoughts on “We Can’t All Be Hourglasses

  1. I’m a tiny little bit taller than you but my body type is totally different. I think I weigh at least 110. I mean, I have rather big breasts but the rest is also more voluminous, I’ve never been slim and will never be if I don’t do sports for hours and eat 100% clean. I also had my issues because of that and used to wish to have a figure like yours.

    I did a workshop about ideals of beauty a couple of weeks ago and of course, the ideal body was always the one hardest to achieve. Today it’s having big boobs, a flat stomach, long and slim legs etc. and it’s impossible to achieve since a flat stomach requires being athletic and is contradictory to the big boobs since they’re just fat. How do people like Megan Fox solve it? They get operated. And this is presented to us as how we should look like. That’s why I’m trying to avoid and ignore all those images the media show us.

    It’s natural that we always have an idea of “beauty” but I think it’s important to challenge this idea since it always also says what’s not beautiful (like those artists you mentioned). I’m trying to see beauty in everything, it can be so diverse.

    As you say, we should all take pride in our bodies, no matter how they look like (health comes in all forms)!

    (I hope I make sense to you haha)

    Liked by 2 people

    • I love this and I completely agree! Seeing beauty in everything can be super hard, but it is definitely a challenge I am willing to accept! I think it is so important for us to love the natural body that we have.
      Thanks for your feedback.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Completely get where you are coming from! I am small too, 5ft, but I was given curves which I find at times harder to dress when you are this small. My best friend is 5ft 10 with a slim frame and I was contantly jealous and would compare myself to her all the time because her body would let her carry off fashions my small body could not. I started weight training and have lost some extra weight. I am now finally happy with how I look as I feel more comfortable in my own skin and since I cant change my height and naturally curvy frame I have started to embrace this. Me and the girls were talkinf earlier about our bodies. I get more of a kick if I manage to push extra reps or add a higher weight on then what number the scales are telling me x

    Liked by 2 people

    • Woohoo! I am so glad to hear that you are comfortable in your own skin! It is such an encouragement that you found a positive way to change what you weren’t happy about, but it sounds like it was for you and no one else.
      I am glad that I am not the only one that understands that we can’t change the basis of our bodies. We can be more healthy and workout, but that only enhances the body we were given.
      Keep going girl. You are an inspiration! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

      • I just think if I don’t love my body, how will I let anyone else love it. I have features on my body some people would love to have. If I cant change something by working out then thats just the way my body is. I’m never going to be a Victoria Secret looking girl and thats okay- I couldn’t give up cake anyway! There is so much out there to tell us to conform with looks one way or another but what I tell my friends and what I want to let my future children know is how beautiful we all are naturally. One of my friends is incredibly self concious and I hate the way she feels about herself so all I can do is never let her forget how beautiful I see her x

        Liked by 1 person

      • Girl that is the truth. I kind of realized that the other day. I have always been a bit inwardly self-conscious about my small size, but you just have to embrace it, because if you love yourself then someone else is bound to as well.
        You are a wonderful friend! I plan to tell my future kids that as well. And nothing is worth giving up cake. πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 2 people

    • Sorry for just now getting back to you… You do not understand how much I needed to hear your response! I am so glad that my words had an impact on you. I wrote that over a year ago, but it still burns in my mind every day. It feels so good to know that we are not alone! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

      • No, it’s okay! I’m new to this blogging thing. And I was pleasantly surprised when I came across this post. We have a lot of posts and campaigns dedicated to supporting curvy girls (not that we shouldn’t!) but we hardly have any for thin girls because people automatically assume that being thin is great. Both body types get equally ridiculed. I feel like I get it worse because I’m tall and thin. And if you’re tall, you look even more thin. If I had a dollar for every time someone told me that I would be “perfect” if I gained weight, I’d have enough money to bribe them to shut up.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Exactly! Sometimes I feel almost ashamed for being skinny and that if I spoke out against the negative that is said toward skinny girls, I will get told I just don’t understand what it is like. That is why I honestly believe that society isn’t saying all girls need to be thin, they are saying that all girls need to be perfect, because both skinny and curvy girls are shamed.

        I am so glad you found my post, because I have been dying to have someone to discuss this with!! πŸ˜€

        Like

  3. Pingback: Saying Yes to the Dress – A Precious Penny

What Do You Think?

