Taste The Rainbow

gay rights

 

Like being a woman, like being a racial, religious, tribal, or ethnic minority, being LGBT does not make you less human. And that is why gay rights are human rights and human rights are gay rights. – Hillary Clinton

This morning I slept in, I watched an episode of So You Think You Can Dance, and took a shower all before I found out that gay marriage had been legalized. I woke up this morning thinking it would be just a regular day, but instead I got to be alive during one of most monumental days in history.

I am so excited that gay marriage is now legal. I have so many friends that can now be married and I feel like so many other people who have been afraid can finally be comfortable with who they are.

Growing up a Christian, I was always told that homosexuality was wrong, but I never really agreed with this. In church, we are taught that there is no sin that is worse than another. Therefore, I never understood why they were so against gay people. No one says anything about alcoholics getting married and that is a sin, no one says anything about people who had premarital sex getting married and that is a sin; I just never understood why it was such a big deal. If you feel that being homosexual is a sin then allow those people to sin the way they want to and you sin the way you want to.

Another reason I never understood why it wasn’t legal is because the only argument against it was that it was wrong, but isn’t there supposed to be a separation of church and state… so when you strip away the religion, why is it so wrong?

I have been amazed and proud at how the country has responded to this news. It is such an incredible celebration!

I was at work earlier and I realized that sometimes people can really surprise you. One of the servers that used to work there was openly gay, but had never really found a partner. He is one of the sweetest people ever and everyone really adores him. Well three of his good friends (a guy/girl couple and another straight guy) decided to go with him to a gay bar for the first time in celebration! I thought this was so sweet!

I have high hopes that we continue this uphill battle! That Americans continue to be encouraging in helping fight for gay rights! It is incredible how far we have come!

❤ a girl

One thought on “Taste The Rainbow

What Do You Think?

