My Girl, Elephant.

best friendFriendship is a funny thing.

It’s funny, because there are so many levels to it, but there are also so many types of people. There are those people who can make friends with anyone. There are those people who can’t seem to make a friend to save their life. There are those people who call everyone their best friends, therefore the word loses it’s meaning. There are those people who have a gazillion acquaintances, but only a handful of friends.

I fall in line with those people who have a bunch of acquaintances, a few close friends, a best friend, and a soulmate.

My soulmate is my utter opposite. She is crazy, risky, and the life of the party. I can assure you I am not those things. We met when I got my job at the beginning of last school year. For months we were just coworkers who would exchange a hello or a smile, but then in November she slid her number to me and said I should call her sometime. It was so funny to me, because who does that; especially when you aren’t interested in that person. Well, now I realize that is just her personality.Β I added her number, but didn’t call her.

Next time we worked together she asked if I wanted to adopt an Angel Tree kid with her for Christmas. It was such an odd yet sweet thing for a broke college student who is barely your friend to ask, but I couldn’t turn her down. I didn’t have very many friends at school yet, so I figured what the heck. After work, we drove to the mall to adopt our child and shop for her. After spending all of five minutes at the mall with her, I realized that she was just as quirky as me and this friendship might have been meant to be.

Little by little she started opening up to me about her family, her relationship, and her background. There were so many differences, yet quite a few similarities. I thought it was so weird that she liked spending time with me, because at the time she was a proud Atheist and I was an open Christian. She is fashionable, I am simple. She is a party animal, I am in bed by 10 o’clock. Well none of that mattered to her. I was a person worth getting to know.

Although we have only been friends for about 8 months, I feel like I have known her my whole life. She stood by me while I began to question my faith. She encouraged me to try new things. She took me to my first party and watched over me as I drank for the first time. She has never once judged me.

Well now it is my turn. My soulmate has become a stripper. There are lots of things she does that I don’t approve of (and I am open about it), but this one is pretty darn close to the top of the list. I am not a supporter of this industry, but it is something she has always wanted to do. She likes it. She makes money. She doesn’t plan to do it forever. She stood by my side as I ventured out into unknown territory, so I will stand by her side as she does the same.

Our relationship continues to crack me up. She is a stripper with a long-term boyfriend; I am a virgin who has never had a boyfriend. She is a party animal who can’t take a shot; I have been to three parties and can do shots all night long. She is sure of herself; I question everything. But I would be lying if I didn’t say we make the best team when we are together full of honesty, laughter, and obnoxious singing!

To be cliche, she is my person in every way and I am so grateful for her, because everyone needs that one best friend!

❀ a girl

What Do You Think?

