My Brother is an Ass.

treat peopleI have one brother. He is 22 months older than me. He has dark hair and dark eyes. He doesn’t look like me. Sometimes I am not sure how we are actually related. I have been told since I can remember that he has always loved me very much. I disagree with that statement.

My brother is weird, immature, and socially awkward. It has always been hard to connect with him, because we are so different. Throughout the years I have lost all interest in spending any time with him. He is arrogant, rude, and disrespectful and I don’t like being surrounded by that.

Since my brother and I are so different, I feel like he resents me. I enjoy school and I am good at it; him not so much. I am friendly and have good friends; him not so much. I make good decisions and don’t piss our parents off; him not so much. I think he thinks our parents like me more. I think he thinks our parents are more proud of me.

Last night, the arguing and the fighting with him hit rock-bottom. He really hurt my mom and I don’t appreciate it when he treats her this way. My mom has a strict no alcohol in the house rule. My brother knows this rule, but while they were out of town this past week he disobeyed it. He has been abusing alcohol. When he gets upset or things don’t go his way, he starts downing tequila shots until he passes out. We are all worried about him. Well my mom confronted him last night and he was a jerk. You live in her house, so you can abide by her rules! But he doesn’t see it that way. He ended up taking his tequila to the street and finishing it out there, but he never came home. They couldn’t find him. No matter how rude he is, my mother still loves him. She was up all night worrying about him.

It’s times like these when I start to question everything. I don’t understand how a person can act that way, especially toward their mom. I have given him excuses when he was younger, but now I don’t feel sorry for him. He is one of the reasons I no longer have the kind of faith I used to. I used to pray every day that God would help my brother; point him in the right direction, provide him with good people to hang out with, care about him just a little, open his eyes. Now I am just done. I don’t care if God is God; I don’t see how he can make one family function and be happy, while mine struggles constantly. That may sound selfish, but I don’t care. I gave up believing God will help do anything in my life… that is if he is even up there.

Honestly, my parents should have kicked my brother out a long time ago. As much as I don’t want to see my family in shambles, I feel like it would be best if they kicked him out tomorrow. He showed back up today like he hadn’t even behaved that way last night. I want them to stand up to him. I know my mom is scared she will lose him, but at some point he has to learn that treating people this way and acting this way will get you nowhere in life. He needs to appreciate what he has instead of always taking advantage.

❤ a girl

11 thoughts on “My Brother is an Ass.

  1. I kind of know what your brother is like…I have been told how I am so rude, arrogant, don’t listen to anyone lately, and I should not be around people…I do think there’s actually a way you can get him to be a little better or atleast pointed in some specific direction….

    Like

    • I am sorry people tell you that. I don’t think you should be hidden away by any means.

      How would you suggest I go about pointing him in a different direction? I am open to any and all suggestions!

      Like

      • See my latest post dedicated to living life as siblings…with a special reflection on teengers as siblings: How teenagers can behave with older/so-called “more sensible” siblings and what these siblings can cause teenagers and how to avoid that from reaching the “breaking-point”.

        Like

  2. Reblogged this on DOA:Writer and commented:
    Yeah, I have been told things like that lately. So…”way to go, brother” 😛
    Okay, I know I am an ass but I can be mature too….believe me! And so can “brother”. Now just believe that.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow. I felt like I was reading something I wrote!! This is seriously the same exact thing I’ve been going through for the past few years; except my brother is 22 months YOUNGER! Hahaha. But wow. Soo many similarities. What helped me was moving away to college. Now we get along much better! Plus he got a really nice girlfriend, so that really helped him. It sucks seeing a sibling being so disresspectful to your mom… I hope everything gets better 🙂

    Like

    • Woah! That’s crazy!
      I go away to college too, but it hasn’t changed. 😦
      I have always hoped a nice girl would take interest in him, but it doesn’t surprise me that one hasn’t, because with the way he acts I don’t blame them for not wanting to be around him.
      Thanks girl, I appreciate it! I’m glad your brother turned himself around! I’ll keep hoping!

      Like

  4. Pingback: Siblings-a complicated issue | DOA:Writer

  5. Pingback: my big bro. | Just A Precious Penny

What Do You Think?

