Gobble. Give Thanks. Gobble.

Thanksgiving

Happy Thanksgiving Friends!!

Confession: Thanksgiving is probably my least favorite holiday. Gasp! Yes, I said it.

It’s not because I don’t like being thankful for the people, things, and happenings in my life, because I am (most of the time) very thankful. It’s more for these three reasons: I don’t like the food, my extended family makes me uncomfortable, and we don’t go about Thanksgiving in the right way.

Let’s all take a second to corporately gasp. Most people’s mouths water when people discuss turkey, stuffing, sweet potatoes, green bean casserole, and all that other stuff, but not me. I cringe at the sight, smell, and thought of Thanksgiving food. My mom always makes mac n cheese just so my brother and I will have something to eat. Oh and I think it is wrong for all of the food to touch on a person’s plate– just throwing that out there.

My extended family is an odd mix of people who for the most part don’t like each other and don’t get along. These facts make our get-togethers very uncomfortable. I absolutely love spending time with my Nana and her husband, but my cousins, aunts, and uncles are another story. They aren’t all bad and they aren’t all bad all the time, but for the majority of the time, I would rather stuff myself in a corner with a book.

When I say we don’t go about Thanksgiving the right way, I mean that in the cheesiest way possible. We rarely even talk about what we are thankful for, because we are all secretly hating on the others and nonchalantly trying not to kill each other. So it is more of a day of working on our patience and keeping our mouths shut.

I dream about when I finally meet someone and get to spend a holiday with a different family. I know this sounds awful, but I just want to get a feel for how others celebrate. When I get married, I want to change the way my family does Thanksgiving. I want to be that family that goes around the table and talks about what they are thankful for. I want to play football and catch in the yard. I want to laugh as we play board games after we are done eating. I want there to be different conversations and interactions. I want to change the way we do Thanksgiving.

These are just dreams right now, but I often look forward to actually looking forward to holidays, because I will be surrounded by genuine love!

❤ a girl

What do your families do for Thanksgiving?

What Do You Think?

