Something Borrowed: On the Page vs. On the Screen

At my local used bookstore, I found Emily Giffin’s novel, Something Borrowed, in the clearance section for $1. This was QUITE a steal, because I instantly fell for this book. I finished it in a few days and then ran out to get the movie. As in most cases, I found the book to be significantly better, but both were lots of fun!

something borrowed bookLast summer, I read Love The One You’re With by Emily Giffin and wasn’t very impressed, so I was a bit hesitant to pick up another novel by her, not to mention a novel about cheating. BUT I gave in (because it was a dollar!!) and am so glad that I did.

Something Borrowed was a delight to read! The main character, Rachel, literally made me laugh out loud. She was so relatable for any smart, awkward girl, but also I could identify with her, because I have also had multiple best friends who overshadow me and are obnoxious and selfish.

After finishing the book, I decided to read some reviews and was blown away by how many did not like the book. I found it hard to believe they didn’t enjoy it, but was more blown away by the things they said about Rachel and Dex. Most of these reviews were angry with the how things played out, but how could you? The premise of the book is that a woman slept with her best friend’s fiance and then started falling for him…. so that plot is to be expected. I despised the best friend, Darcy. I found her to be an awful friend and a disgustingly self-centered human being. I didn’t like her from the very first page and didn’t feel bad for her in the least.

I’ll be honest, I rooted for Rachel and Dex the entire time. I found him to be handsome and smart and sincere. Yes, he and Rachel were in the wrong and cheating is definitely not something I want to be a part of, but the situation was all kinds of messed up. Yes, Dex should have called it off way sooner, but Darcy wasn’t innocent during this whole debacle which is important to remember.

I really liked the ending (the whole book really!), just swooning and smiling and getting all giddy. I especially loved Ethan and Hillary, who kind of set the friendship into perspective. We all need friends who will just tell it like it is, but also let us make our own decisions.

When you pick up Something Borrowed, you understand the storyline. The back synopsis tells you it is about cheating and a rocky friendship, so don’t act so shocked that it happens. Try and put yourself in Rachel’s shoes… I very much enjoyed this book and will most likely read it again someday!

something borrowed movieThe movie adaptation wasn’t bad, especially for a romantic comedy. The basic plot was the same with some of the finer details left out or changed, but I feel like that really made the movie take a hit, because those were the details that made the book so hilarious.

I felt Ginnifer Goodwin was a PERFECT choice for Rachel, because she plays that innocent, good girl act so well and she is gorgeous! But Kate Hudson was a PERFECT pick for Darcy, because she plays the too-beautiful, obnoxious, best friend character so well (remember Bride Wars?). And Colin Egglesfield was very handsome and very likeable.

One change I had a problem with was the way Marcus and Claire were portrayed. I know I didn’t mention them in the book synopsis, because they weren’t necessarily key characters, but they completely altered their personalities and I found them to be completely unlikeable or relatable and downright ridiculous. They made Marcus into a manchild and someone who Rachel would never go for and they changed Claire into this psycho-obsessive girl… it just didn’t make sense. Ethan, Rachel’s male best friend, was a great add in. In the movie, Ethan’s character was a mix of Ethan and Hillary in the book, but I feel this change really worked. It didn’t really take away from either character and still flowed with the storyline.

If you were to watch it without having read the book, you would probably really like it. Not really one to watch all the time, but it provides a few laughs. It is a fun, guilty-pleasure story, because no one really wants to condone cheating, but in this case you kind of just have to accept it and root for them. Overall, not a bad adaptation.

❤ a girl

2 thoughts on “Something Borrowed: On the Page vs. On the Screen

What Do You Think?

