Sometimes You Quit

Finding a Job

Ever since we are children, we are taught to never give up. We are taught to stick it out. We are taught to give it a chance. We are not taught to just ditch something when it gets hard, but what if that is the best thing for you?

When my internship ended, I needed another job, because I couldn’t support my fast food habits and keep my dog alive if I didn’t have any income. So not wanting another office job, I saw that a Raising Cane’s Chicken Fingers was opening up in my town. I had never worked in fast food before, but I figured it would be a fast paced environment and the shifts would go by quickly. So I applied and got the job.

Well working here was not at all what I imagined. It was worse, much worse. It was like working for Nazis. First, when I applied I made clear that I couldn’t work shifts longer than 6 hours and I could not work more than 20 hours a week, because I am a full-time student. Well for starters, all my shifts were 8 hours or more and in the first week I was scheduled for 44 hours. This was insane due to my already stressful school-load. Second, they are constantly telling you you aren’t doing a good enough job; you are never fast enough, nice enough, busy enough. You try and go faster and accidentally spill food, they yell at you. You try and be nicer and accidentally forget to repeat part of the order due to conversation with the customer, they yell at you. You take a breather after a long line, they yell at you. Third, you never get there or leave when you are actually scheduled. You need to be 5 to 15 minutes early for your shift and you must stay until your PM replacement comes… multiple times I was there 30 to 45 minutes after I was scheduled which was already 2 hours past what I said I could work. It was emotionally, mentally, and physically draining and I even left in tears one night. Fourth, they do not allow you to take breaks. It is illegal not to give a lunch break with a shift 8 hours or more, yet when I asked for a break, because I was overwhelmed, I was told I could take 5 minutes.

I was just getting really sick of the working conditions and coming home crying or just exhausted for something that shouldn’t be that stressful. I brought up to my GM that I couldn’t keep working that many hours and he said he would work with me, which he did for one week, but then the next I was scheduled over 20 hours again with 8 hour plus shifts, so I was just over it. I have higher priorities than getting bullied trying to make it at a fast food restaurant. So I put in my two weeks last week, but never got an acknowledgement from management, so I decided I was just not going to go back. But don’t get me wrong, I still love their food.

Truthfully, I can be kind of a quitter, but I felt it was understandable in this situation. I just don’t believe in keeping yourself in negative situations just because you got yourself in the mess. If you can find an out in order to find something more suitable to you, then do it.

❤ Lauren

What Do You Think?

