My Big Bro

IMG_7347

Meet my big brother. His name is Dalton. Today is his 23rd birthday.

Dalton and I are 18 months apart. A lot of people feel that when kids are close in age, they will be close in general. In our case, these people could not be more wrong. My mother claims we were the bestest friends as little kiddos, but once we started school all that changed.

Besides having different favorite things, he and I just went in different directions. I took the path of education: I loved everything about school; learning, friends, clubs, advancement. Dalton on the other hand just wanted to make it to the end of the day (mainly through sleeping lol!). I chose to go to college and he chose to get a full-time job. I am into reading, writing, scrapbooking…. he is into cars, mudding, and alcohol.

For a while my brother and I did not get along. We lived in the same house, but it was as if we didn’t. There were weeks where we wouldn’t see or speak to each other at all. We had just changed so much and I felt that I didn’t like or understand the person he was becoming. I was in a weird place myself, but I mostly kept it to myself, where he likes to publicize how he feels. If you were around last year, you may remember my post about my brother being an ass. I am not proud of that post, but I am all about honesty and he really scared me that night.

I am happy to say that Dalton and I have come a long way in our relationship. I am not going to lie, we are still not best friends or anything, but we can [normally] get through dinner without a fight. We are still headed in different directions, but I hope we will both continue to grow together instead of apart.

Love is patient.
-1 Corinthians 13:4

What Do You Think?

