Movie Review: Before We Go

Before We Go is a movie that Chris Evans starred in and directed. I added it to my Netflix que a while back and just got around to watching it and I am pleased to say that I genuinely really liked it by the end! It has an indie film feel to it, but it also has a heartwarming charm to it. The beginning started off kind of slow, but after 20 or so minutes I was interested in the characters.

This is one of those movies that is based on New York City happenstance. There are a lot of movies that revolve around this notion that strangers meet in NYC and magic happens. Although I don’t believe in this, I will admit that it is a guilty pleasure plot that I enjoy.

Nick and Brooke both find themselves in New York on this fateful night and coincidently Brooke misses her train, but really needs to get back home and Nick is avoiding attending a certain event, so being a true gentleman he offers to help her. So as the movie progresses, the two get into all kinds of mischief while you slowly learn about each of their pasts and circumstances.

I like the mystery and the way it unfolds. I like the almost ending and how it doesn’t go the way you think it is going to. They were going for a “fill in your own ending” which always irritate me, because I like definite endings, but I am still really happy with the way it turned out and I am actually smiling while writing this. Definitely watch if you are a sucker for New York City movies, romance movies, indie love films… just watch it!

What Do You Think?

