Show Review: A Series of Unfortunate Events

Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events… where do I even begin?

Let me start by saying that I never read the book series. During Elementary School I would always see kids carrying the books around, but I never desired to read them. With that being said, this series is my boyfriend’s favorite of all time, so while watching he fed me all the comparisons between book and show. Also, I did see the original movie, but not since like 2008 or so.

Now, I can only describe my viewing experience of A Series of Unfortunate Events as a tolerate/hate relationship. I only watched it, because my boyfriend begged me too. I fell asleep during the first episode, because it was boring, but really I felt that the way the script flows is really weird and the humor was more annoying than funny. I found not knowing where everything was taking place (like the United States) or what year it was (like present day) to be very frustrating. Nothing felt natural about the show; the children especially seemed bland and extremely scripted and Count Olaf was just plain disturbing and while watching him on multiple occasions I felt violated… I just did not click with anything about it. Oh and I also couldn’t get over how ridiculously stupid the adults were. I am sure there is some underlying reason to why that is, but I just couldn’t get on board with it.

With all that being said, I did make it through all eight episodes and they did start getting better toward the end. Through all of my irritation and dislike of the show, I did find some positives I will share. Making it a tv show was the best idea! For large and successful book series, fitting them into a few movies just doesn’t always cut it; we know this from the failed attempt at a movie series back when Jim Carrey was Count Olaf. I felt the movie was doomed from the start, because they went out of order instead of staying true to the series or making each book its own movie, so by splitting each book into two episodes, it is my understanding that all of the major themes were included and making it so that the story made sense (or as much sense as it can). I liked the air of mystery as well as the conspiracy I feel they keep hinting too.

All in all, this show has great potential! Although hesitant, I have no doubt I will be back to watch the second season.

2 thoughts on “Show Review: A Series of Unfortunate Events

  1. I agree with your points – but in a strange way the weird factor is why i liked it. The books themselves had that same kind of atmosphere – the adults really were that stupid, olaf was that creepy and the humour was…kind of offbeat xx

    Like

    • I feel like I would have enjoyed it if I had read the books… understood more of the atmosphere and be able to picture why the director created a scene that way instead of going the more conventional route.

      Like

What Do You Think?

