Movie Review: Big

The space goes down, down baby, down, down the roller coaster. Sweet, sweet baby, sweet, sweet, don’t let me go. Shimmy, shimmy, cocoa pop. Shimmy, shimmy, rock. Shimmy, shimmy, cocoa pop. Shimmy, shimmy, rock. I met a girlfriend – a triscuit. She said, a triscuit – a biscuit. Ice cream, soda pop, vanilla on the top. Ooh, Shelly’s out, walking down the street, ten times a week. I read it. I said it. I stole my momma’s credit. I’m cool. I’m hot. Sock me in the stomach three more times.

Big is a 1988 comedy about a young boy is who is tired of being small and wishes to be big while playing a mysterious game at a fair. The next day he wakes up as a 30 year old. With the help of his best friend, a plan is hatched to help him lay low until they can figure out how to return him to his former self, but of course this was not as easy as it sounds.

The best way to describe this movie is calling it the “boy” version of 13 Going on 30. Instead of waking up 30 years later as a 30 year old, the young boy wakes up present day as a 30 year old. Another difference is that instead of discovering he has turned into a horrible person, he discovers the adult world can be a scary place until you find your niche.

Tom Hanks is a rockstar in this adorable comedy. He embodies the character perfectly and has the right amount of awkwardness mixed with cuteness. I honestly didn’t want this movie to end as quickly as it did.

Bottom Line:Β Big is full of quirky characters and big laughs. I would call it family-friendly with some innuendos that would go over a kid’s head, but fun for the adults. Definitely give it a chance if you like classic, cute movies with good storylines.

What Do You Think?

