I Said Yes!

You know you’re in love when you can’t fall asleep, because reality is finally better than your dreams.
-Dr. Seuss

Jeremiah asked me to marry him last night… I SAID YES!

You know how people say everything happens for a reason? Last night that proved true. You all know how my best gal friend decided she wanted nothing to with me on Wednesday and I was destroyed. Well, I decided that I wanted something good to come out of that, so I reached out to Jeremiah’s twin’s fiancΓ© to apologize for my previous behavior. She is a wonderful girl, but I felt so insecure around her, so there were times I was nonchalantly cold toward her. I came clean and explained how I was feeling and how I think and react. I genuinely want to get to know her, so I asked if she would be interested in us hanging out without the guys around. She agreed and we made plans for Saturday.

Saturday came and she told me about this craft fair in downtown Fort Worth that she has been dying to go to and wanted to know if I wanted to check it out with her. I agreed and she sent me the address of a church we were going to park at. When we got there, I was just following her lead, but turns out there was no craft fair. We turn the corner and there is a row of trees all lit up and I see Jeremiah standing at the other end holding flowers. I stop and look around and realize that I was supposed to walk over to him.

I’m smiling so stinking wide as I approach him. I give him a big kiss and he tells me not yet (lol!). He hands me the flowers and they not only smelled beautiful, they were my favorite color. He then takes a step back and picks up this huge wooden plaque. He begins to read. I realize he has written me a poem. I take in every word and can’t tear my eyes away from him. The poem is about him, us, me. He has intertwined it with little quirks from our time together and it makes my smile even bigger! He ends with: Lauren, you are my everything, so will you marry me?

Jeremiah gets a little black box from his pocket and then kneels down. After further explaining why he wants to marry me, I am so eager to give him my answer. OF COURSE! He puts the most simply beautiful ring on my finger and beams at me. I can’t contain my excitement. I am engaged to my best friend! But it only got better. He had arranged for my family to be at a restaurant down the street, so we met them there. It was absolutely better than anything I could have ever imagined and I am literally floating on cloud 100!

12 thoughts on “I Said Yes!

  1. Pingback: The Knot vs. WeddingWire – A Precious Penny

  2. Pingback: Big Changes | A Precious Penny

What Do You Think?

