Show Review: Santa Clarita Diet

Are you baking cookies? -Abby
No, it’s vanilla extract and essentials oils, baked in the oven at 350. It’s an old realtor trick. Makes the house smell like home. -Sheila

The Santa Clarita Diet was… um… interesting. It was recommended to me by my roommate who had only seen the trailer. I thought it sounded pretty stupid, but Saturday night I was at Jeremiah’s and was going to just veg and watch one of my shows, but he made a fuss begging me not to watch Grey’s Anatomy or Criminal Minds, so in an attempt to irritate him, I clicked on the Santa Clarita Diet. The first episode was so awful that we couldn’t tear our eyes away. I am a fan of Drew Barrymore and he of Timothy Olyphant, so we felt that the show had potential, but it just went from awful to bad to worse to terrible.

The great thing about the show is that it doesn’t feel like the actors are trying to be amazing, it just feels like they are having a great time. So if you watch it with that attitude, it can be a lot of fun. Jeremiah and I found ourselves cracking up from how stupid the premise was and how dumb the actors were.

I don’t have much to say, because this wasn’t a show I would have picked. The storyline has potential, but the acting and execution is truly horrible. The season finale was a serious letdown compared to the prior episodes and I really feel this could have been a great one season only little online mini-series, but of course they want to milk it, so most likely this will get a second season. We can only hope for the best at this point.

Bottom Line: If you are looking for a light, silly, comedy that isn’t trying very hard, then give the Santa Clarita Diet a chance. I got some great laughs and some good smirks from watching it. It can be binged in one sitting or drawn out, but just remember that it is awful, but run with it.

What Do You Think?

