I Still Don’t Like Valentine’s Day

Valentine’s Day. The holiday that you can’t openly dislike without serious criticism.

Ever since I was in junior high, I have thought Valentine’s Day was a stupid holiday. Why is it even classified as a holiday? When you’re younger, you decorate cute boxes and write all your classmate’s names on little cards to make sure that everyone feels included, but as you get older that isn’t the case anymore, because you actually understand what the holiday is about.

It is a specified day where society tells your significant other they have to show you they love you. What is special about that? Well, nothing is special about that, because it is not heartfelt or thoughtful, it is obligatory. So your guy takes you to a nice dinner, buys you flowers, brings you breakfast in bed on February 14th… that is great, but it would mean exponentially more to me if he did that on a day where every other guy wasn’t doing the exact same thing, on a day where it isn’t expected.

Before this past year, if I claimed to dislike Valentine’s Day it would get chalked up to the fact that I was single. Woe is me, because I don’t have someone paying attention to me on a day they are told to. The point I was trying to make is that it just isn’t special, because it is a holiday designed to make society money. Imagine how much money is made from flower, chocolate, and card sales… a freaking ton and it is so unnecessary! But now I am engaged and my views haven’t changed and lucky for me, I found someone who sees it the same way as me.

My fiancé and I aren’t celebrating Valentine’s Day, because we both believe that we don’t need a specific day to show the other we love them. He surprises me with food and I leave notes on his windshield. We do little and big things whether we have a reason or not. We aren’t going to buy into the hype or obligation that February 14th brings, we will create that “magic” on some other day when it actually comes from the heart.

But for those of you who do celebrate, Happy Valentine’s Day!

What Do You Think?

